It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 05:21

Advice on braid.

Spotted something new on the market?? Want advice on which rod or reel?? Post in here.

Advice on braid.

Postby Stephen125 » 06 Mar 2019, 14:49

Hi everyone, I could do with some advice on braid.
I'm a bit of a novice on the beach fishing scene and I'm still learning the hard way!
Anyway onto my problem.
Last October I bought my first beach fishing rod and reel....a Penn Rampage 13ft rod and Penn Surfblaster 7000 combo from Gerrys of Morecambe. Included in the combo was a pack of Spiderwire 30lb dura braid mainline which I was very impressed with......so impressed I was that I decided to buy the same rod and reel combo from a different shop which did not include the braid.
I spooled the second reel up with 30lb Daiwa orange mono but decided to remove the mono as I did not like the feel and stretch compared to the braid.......which brings me to the main point.
A week ago I decided to invest in some 30lb Spiderwire stealth smooth red and thinking that is more expensive than dura braid, it would be better quality.......how wrong!
I spooled up the second reel with the new braid and found it snapped far far more easily than the dura braid....which I was not happy about.
Can anyone advise why this happens?
Cheers guys and go easy on me!
Trainee Addict

Sponsored Advert - Register or Login to hide Adverts

Sponsored Advert

Re: Advice on braid.

Postby James Mully » 08 Mar 2019, 00:06